CroqCan 2013 - Golf Croquet

Golf CroqCan 2013 held June 7 through 9 was the seventh annual Canadian Open Golf Croquet Championship. All have been held at the Toronto Cricket Skating Curling Club, which is fitting, as almost all of our 75 Croquet Activity Members exclusively play this WCF regulated variant of croquet.

In the first weather induced washout in seven years, the “End Game” strategy clinic to be given by Leo McBride was cancelled due to incessant rain. Leo and John Richardson donned their rain gear and got in some croquet. Some of Leo’s expertise must have rubbed off on John, as he just missed the Open Flight play-off cut.

The reception on Thursday, June 6 was moved indoors. In attendance were the Cricket Club General Manager David Brightling and President David Plummer, who welcomed the participants and guests to the Club and to the Tournament.

This tournament attracted 34 players in three singles and a Waterford Doubles flight.

Click here to Read more, see results and some photos

While the tournament notice specified a limit of 48 players, the 34 players strained the capacity of the five full-size courts. With 7 of 13 hoop games and best of three matches allotted 2 hours, 32 players is a practical limit.

Block play and Waterford matches took place all day Friday, and on Saturday up until the Silent Auction and Dinner. Piano music during the Silent Auction was provided by Cricket Club staff member Michael Moore. The dinner, with a choice of Slow Roast Beef Tenderloin or Skillet Fillet of Orange Roughy primed the participants for a last round of the Silent Auction.

The heavy schedule had the last of the singles block play set for Sunday morning. However, the Open Flight contenders gave up “social time” on Saturday evening to complete the matches that determined the play-offs. The semi-finals saw leader Brian Cumming pitted against fourth place Patrick Little and second place Paul Emmett against Leo McBride. In the final Leo took the championship over Patrick Little.

Open Flight Singles
Leo McBride 1
Patrick Little 2
Brian Cumming 3
Paul Emmett 4
John Richardson 5
Jim Wright 6
David Bryan 7
K. Jane Beharriell 8

Leo McBride

First Flight Singles

Christian Paquet 1
Stephanie Smyth 2
Ken Fortnum 3
Ron Truman 4
Georg Dej 5
Anne Robinson 6
Richard Wright 7
Dolores Gallagher 8
Paul Cook 9
Gregg Hannah 10
Toni Kemp 11
Bobbie French 12

 Anne Robinson

Second Flight Singles

Aldo Forgione 1
William Hall 2
Anne Ross 3
Dianne Leggatt 4
Ian MacGregor 5
Frances Méte 6

 Aldo Forgione

Waterford Doubles

Leslie Hall 1
Joy Dej 2
Gayle Fortnum 3
Reuben Bromstein 4
Elizabeth Aird 5
Katrina Hall 6
Keith Boast 7
Liz Bromstein 8

Leslie Hall

“Well Played” all.

 Thank you to the Golf CroqCan Committee; Bill Hall, Elizabeth Aird, Gayle Fortnum, Joy Dej, Katrina Hall, Ken Fortnum, Leslie Hall, Paul Cook, Stephanie Smyth and the Cricket Club staff, for making this the best CroqCan in many years, as rated by our many guests.

Georg Dej

Tournament Director